Which Martial Art?

Which Martial Art?

This is a discussion on Which Martial Art? within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; So a quick forum search didn't provide an answer. Which form or style of martial art lends itself best to gunfighting. I've seen Krav Maga ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Which Martial Art?

Which Martial Art?

So a quick forum search didn't provide an answer.

Which form or style of martial art lends itself best to gunfighting. I've seen Krav Maga has some pretty brutal disarming techniques, but I'm talking about a kind of fighting that treats the gun like Kendo treats the sword.

What do you guys and gals know, or think?
    Pax
    Tulsa, OK

I'm no expert, I'm just a lowly blue belt in Okinawan Kempo, but it was my understanding that the basis of most martial arts were formed before firearms were prevelant, which is one reason why Kendo is an art for the sword. In my humble opinion you're better off looking for an instructor who is firearm friendly and who can tailor an art to you.

For example I spent much of Saturday afternoon giving an impromptu lesson in basic firearms to the rest of my martial arts class. (When I was supposed to go to Iraq I had practiced disarms with me sensei, and I had recently mentioned that I wanted to include them into class. So he did.) Afterwards we practiced disarms.

Point is we were taking traditional tecniques and applying them to modern day situations. Like I said before, look for a sensei who will tailor a program for you, even if it means sending you into a different art.

P.S.- Being pistol whipped, even lightly with just a red gun really really hurts.
    TSgt. Lickey

It takes a college degree to break'em;
    and a high school education to fix'em!