Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu or Krav Maga?

This is a discussion on Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu or Krav Maga? within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I want to begin taking a martial art for practical, self-defense purposes only. I'm curious about Krav Maga, though I have had some experience with ...

View Poll Results: Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu or Krav Maga for practical self defense?

Voters
35. You may not vote on this poll
  • Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

5 14.29%
  • Krav Maga

22 62.86%
  • Other (please specify)

8 22.86%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu or Krav Maga?

I want to begin taking a martial art for practical, self-defense purposes only.

I'm curious about Krav Maga, though I have had some experience with Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu. I want to be able to quickly and effectively defend myself should I be in a situation where the use of a weapon is not preferable or possible.

Here are the two schools from which I would train at depending on which style I decide upon:

Krav Maga: http://www.performanceselfdefense.com
    BJJ: http://www.ndbjj.com

Again, my only experience with any martial art comes from three months of consistent training in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu over four years ago. At the time, I could not afford to continue training for any longer than that, and I haven't returned since. I had the great honor of learning from (now black belt) Orlando Waugh, but he has moved too far away from me to train under him again.

Any input would be appreciated. Pros, cons, considerations, or input on the schools listed above would be great. Thanks!
    Proud member of the Vast Right-Wing Conspiracy:
    http://www.xanga.com/jaltered

I have recently started taking ninjutsu or more commonly known as nija. It is awsome and from what I am told it is the only martial art to include firearms as part of the weapon system.

Bump for the day.

Distinguished Member Array BCurry1's Avatar