Question of blade/handle ratio

This is a discussion on Question of blade/handle ratio within the Defensive Knives & Other Weapons forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Over the years the length of my knives has gotten shorter and shorter. As a teenager, I carried a five inch stiletto and yearned to ...

Thread: Question of blade/handle ratio

Former Member Array The Tourist's Avatar

Over the years the length of my knives has gotten shorter and shorter.

As a teenager, I carried a five inch stiletto and yearned to find one in six inch. Not that the silly inch would improve my chances of safety, but it seemed like you should be 'improving yourself.'

As a biker, my EDC was a Buck 110, and I still carry a custom version of the Buck when riding.

But as knives became tools instead of show-off items, I began to look for more useful examples. Even though I sharpen for a living, one of the knives I use the most is a SuperKnife with a one inch blade.

With traditional pocketknives, the handle is about as long as the blade, and sometimes I want a firm grip.

To that end, I now carry a Li'l Temerance, a knife with a three inch blade and a full size handle. I can do simple, precise repairs, or gut a deer.

(I notice that Emerson has a mini-CQC-7 in that same style.)

Manufacturers try to pack as much blade into the available handle they have, in fact, many buyers seek out the optimum 'blade ratio.'

After all these years, I think it's misguided

Would you like more knives with full size handles and shorter blades?

DC Founder