WI: Butterfly knives (and stun guns)

This is a discussion on WI: Butterfly knives (and stun guns) within the Defensive Knives & Other Weapons forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I understand that switch blades are completely illegal even with a permit, but I believe I remember seeing somewhere that a butterfly knife IS legal ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: WI: Butterfly knives (and stun guns)

WI: Butterfly knives (and stun guns)

I understand that switch blades are completely illegal even with a permit, but I believe I remember seeing somewhere that a butterfly knife IS legal to carry in Wisconsin if you have a conceal carry license, but now I'm unable to find it. Could anyone tell me if they are legal (with a permit) and provide a link if possible? I'm a big fan of them and would love to be able to carry one.

Another question: Is a stun gun worth carrying? I have no experience what-so-ever with them and I'm curious as to if they actually work well. My wife may be taking her conceal carry course and I'm trying to find the best options for her to carry, as much as I love carrying I do not want her carrying a gun, I got her OC spray and taught her how to use it, but I want her to have at least 1 other option to defend herself. What is your experience with stun guns? If you believe they are a good option, how many volts/amps should a good one be?

Thanks in advance for your help.

2. Remove Ads

What is your wife comfortable carrying? Is she comfortable carrying a gun?

Stun guns are a contact weapon, Tazers add distance. Do you really want your wife relying on a contact distance weapon?
    Fortes Fortuna Juvat

Former, USMC 0311, OIF/OEF vet
    NRA Pistol/Rifle/Shotgun/Reloading Instructor, RSO, Ohio CHL Instructor