Looking for my new EDC folder

This is a discussion on Looking for my new EDC folder within the Defensive Knives & Other Weapons forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm looking for a good folding blade. According to local laws, the blade must be under 3.5" long. I think I've settled on a Benchmade ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Looking for my new EDC folder

I'm looking for a good folding blade. According to local laws, the blade must be under 3.5" long.

I think I've settled on a Benchmade (love the axis lock) and am looking for suggestions on which model / blade type to use. Also, I would like to stay under $100.

I hope to hear from some knife geeks, but you might have to explain some of the finer points as I'm just learning about high end folders.

Thanks!

What are you looking for? A utility knife? A defensive blade?

Benchmade makes a lot of great knives and I agree that the Axis lock is a fantastic lock. They also have a good selection of steels, with S30V being one of their more popular steels. If your budget is under $100, the Griptilian line is a good place to start.
    "Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the outcome of the vote." ~ Benjamin Franklin

I only carry one knife. It's mostly a utility blade, but is also a backup (as is anything else within reach) in a life threatening situation.
    I'll look at the griptilian. Thanks!

I have a very strict gun control policy: if there's a gun around, I want to be in control of it.
    Clint Eastwood

I love Tiberius/Maggie.

sgb
    I'm an Emerson fan myself. Take a took at the Mini Commander, it's almost twice what your looking to spend but well worth it in my humble opinion.

http://www.emersonknives.com/ekTheKnives_Tact.php

Commander_BTS.jpg

Handles Black G-10 epoxy / glass laminate
    Lock Aerospace grade Titanium
    Blade 154 CM
    Finish Silver Satin ™ or Black