Which blade for a backup knife?

This is a discussion on Which blade for a backup knife? within the Defensive Knives & Other Weapons forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; OK, so I'm no expert on knives and there are a lot of different blade choices out there. What do you like and why? Which ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which blade for a backup knife?

Question Which blade for a backup knife?

OK, so I'm no expert on knives and there are a lot of different blade choices out there. What do you like and why? Which blade profile? Partially serrated or a plain blade? This will be for a backup for my carry piece and/or for when I can't carry a firearm. There is a place nearby that does some knive training and I'm interested in doing that, but until I take a class I guess I'm looking to you guys for advice
    Thanks!

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    There's so many choices an opinions out there, so you're going to get quite a few answers.

My blade is mostly utility, but since I may have to use it for defense, I always choose one that has a belt clip so it will stay in the same place and position every single time for fast draw. I prefer tip-down carry (when it's closed, the blade is pointing down) because that's the style that's easiest for me to grab and open. The knide also has to have a thumb stud/wheel/hole so I can quickly open it with one hand (I can't legally carry an auto knife ).

I've been through a lot of blade shapes and sizes all the way up to the TN legal limit of 4", and at this point I've gone back to my MOD CQD Mark II. The blade is 3.3 inches.

I can get an excellent grip on it, it's easy to open/close with one hand and has a solid locking mechanism, and the blade is tough. I stuck with the plain blade - I have many serrated blades and partially-serrated blades, but sometimes it's annoying when they snag on things (not to mention they're a pain to sharpen).