New defensive carry knife: Ka-Bar TDI

This is a discussion on New defensive carry knife: Ka-Bar TDI within the Defensive Knives & Other Weapons forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have carried a knife for defense everyday for as long as I can remember. It usually a folding knife clipped in my pocket. But ...

I have carried a knife for defense everyday for as long as I can remember. It usually a folding knife clipped in my pocket. But I have been eyeing a nifty looking fixed blade for a couple of years. Why I took so long to get one, I have no clue. I ordered it Friday and it arrived today. Its a Ka-Bar TDI large plain edge. It has a bend in the middle to give it a pistol like grip. It was actually designed with police and other law enforcement in mind. It is supposed to be worn on the off side from the firearm in the case an officer finds himself in a situation where someone is trying to take his gun. He can then grab the TDI from its kydex sheath and defend himself. The knife can also be effectively used with an underhand grip. It came with 2 straps that can be used with a Molle strap system. I also ordered a clip that attaches and can be worn IWB. This is my intended use. I was looking at some videos about this knife and came across a demo by TDI instructors. They set up a balloon and asked volunteers to pull out a folding knife and pop the balloon with the use of a timer. The average time it took was 2.5 seconds. Then they were asked to use the TDI knife. Average time was .75 seconds. It was a really cool video. All I need now is some type of trainer to practice this uniquely shaped knife.

Knife is very good.

Sheath is CRAP.

Get a Fin Designs or Dale Fricke for IWB carry.

Nice knife man!
    Say 'what' again! I dare you! I double dare you!-Jules Winnfield aka Samuel L Jackson

almost bought one just the other day but when i turned it over it said CHINA i put it down.