What is the legality of carrying a baton on school grounds in Iowa?

This is a discussion on What is the legality of carrying a baton on school grounds in Iowa? within the Defensive Knives & Other Weapons forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm a college student and thus I can't even carry pepper spray or tazors. I'm just curious as to the legality of carrying a retractable ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree12Likes

Thread: What is the legality of carrying a baton on school grounds in Iowa?

What is the legality of carrying a baton on school grounds in Iowa?

I'm a college student and thus I can't even carry pepper spray or tazors. I'm just curious as to the legality of carrying a retractable baton in your bag in Iowa so if I buy one, I don't get charged with a felony or something. Any, help would be appreciated! Thanks guys.

Edit: I know they have alternative uses such as breaking a window to rescue someone trapped in a car or something so I'm not sure under Iowa law whether or not it's even considered a weapon or just a tool...since I think Iowa law defines a weapon as something that is only used for causing harm or damage. My next alternative was going to be a ball-peen hammer.

2. Remove Ads

Why, girls have done it for generations! A bit old fashioned perhaps, but lets keep the tradition alive, I say.
    Oldpsufan likes this.

I'd be more concerned about your college campus "weapon regulations" than about Iowa (state wide) weapon laws. School regulations are usually more restrictive. Iowa law says you can carry a retractable concealed if you have a CCL. If not, you can open carry one on your belt. Easiest solution in all locations? A cane.
    Aceoky likes this.
    There are only TWO kinds of people in this world; those who describe the world as filled with two kinds of people...and those who don't.

Quote Originally Posted by StormRhydr View Post