In praise of a really cheap knife

This is a discussion on In praise of a really cheap knife within the Defensive Knives & Other Weapons forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have been using a CRKT M16-10KZ for several months. It is sold at Wally World for less than $20. It has all the features ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

I have been using a CRKT M16-10KZ for several months. It is sold at Wally World for less than $20. It has all the features of an M16, but is made with cheap steel in China.

In spite of this, it takes and holds a good edge. I use my knives for things that no decent person would ever use a knife for, and it has survived. It is Tanto syle, and the thicker blade is great for unreasonable useage. I don't care that this style is less easily used as a stabbing weapon, it works too well for my usual heavy abuse.

Even after this use and abuse , it is still plenty sharp for SD. For the price, this knife is just too darn good to pass up.
    "If we loose Freedom here, there's no place to escape to. This is the Last Place on Earth!" Ronald Reagan

The CRKT M16 or M21 is a very good series of knives, but they were ruined when the manufacturer decided to add the AutoLAWKS feature with the red lever. LAWKS was fine, it was optional locking and worked great.

If you like the CRKT at Wal*Mart then try a few of the Kershaws there too, I'm intrigued if the Wal*Mart Kershaws are any good.

I also have a Kershaw 1710 - another cheap made-in-china Wally World knife which performs like a much more expensive knife. I've had it so long that I don't remember how much I paid.

Re: the AutoLAWKS feature on the M16 - it took a little getting used to, but is not really a problem. It's not annoying enough to make me not like the knife.
    Last edited by obxned; May 26th, 2007 at 11:45 AM.
    "If we loose Freedom here, there's no place to escape to. This is the Last Place on Earth!" Ronald Reagan