Liner Locks?

Liner Locks?

This is a discussion on Liner Locks? within the Defensive Knives & Other Weapons forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm REALLY new to the knife thing. I'm looking for a folder in the 3-4" range. I've been reading alot of negetive things about liner ...

Thread: Liner Locks?

Liner Locks?

I'm REALLY new to the knife thing. I'm looking for a folder in the 3-4" range. I've been reading alot of negetive things about liner locks. Are there any out there that you guys will recommend.

I would really like an assisted opener. The two that I have looked hardest at are

1. CRKT Crawford Triumph
    2. ZT 400

Lead Moderator
    liner locks are weaker locks than other designs. How hard are you going to be using the knife. For most everyday uses , a liner lock should work fine. I use a Kershaw Blur, it seems to work for me.
    "In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, stand like a rock." Thomas Jefferson

Nemo Me Impune Lacesset

My absolute favorite folder is my Benchmade Griptilion.
    You don't need assisted open when you have a Benchmade.
    Believe me, I have many assisted open knives.

Quote Originally Posted by rocky View Post
    liner locks are weaker locks than other designs. How hard are you going to be using the knife. For most everyday uses , a liner lock should work fine. I use a Kershaw Blur, it seems to work for me.
    I'd like to carry it as a backup defense weapon, to compliment my 229

Quote Originally Posted by roadrat52 View Post
    My absolute favorite folder is my Benchmade Griptilion.
    You don't need assisted open when you have a Benchmade.
    Believe me, I have many assisted open knives.
    I have the same knife, and if you get any Benchmade with the Axis lock, you will see what he is saying. I guarantee I can swing open my griptilion faster than any AO knife.
    Guns don't kill people, Husbands that come home early kill people.

Lead Moderator