Pocket knife in New Jersey

Pocket knife in New Jersey

This is a discussion on Pocket knife in New Jersey within the Defensive Knives & Other Weapons forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Is it legal to carry a pocket knife in New Jersey? It seems that you have to have explainable lawful purpose to carry one?...

Thread: Pocket knife in New Jersey

Question Pocket knife in New Jersey

Is it legal to carry a pocket knife in New Jersey? It seems that you have to have explainable lawful purpose to carry one?

I wouldn't carry anything scary looking, but a normal folding knife should be fine.

I've been carrying a ka-bar dozier thorn knife in Jersey for a few years now, and even checked it at a courthouse (in NJ) once. No fuss, they gave it back to me when I left.
    Discretion is the better part of valour; and a virtue beyond reproach.
    Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

I was patted down by an officer in Central NJ with an assisted spring opening knife, while drinking/BBQ'ing outside of my friend's house. (too much noise complaint and open bottles) He confiscated it and left. It was a Buck.

Buck Knife Platinum Rush 290PLT Assisted Open 1st YEAR - eBay (item 270250718667 end time Jul-06-08 17:30:00 PDT)

looked like that. It seems like an ordinary knife to me. But I guess spring opens are a no no.
    Heavily armed.
    Collection: Kahr CW9, M&P 15-22, Walther P22, Glock 19.
    Sold: XD9 4'', Kimber 1911 Series II compact, FNP-9
    Shopping list: Springfield EMP 9mm, M&P 15 .223

Distinguished Member Array Anubis's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by razz View Post
    Is it legal to carry a pocket knife in New Jersey?
    Good knife law links at Handgunlaw.us

Found this for New Jersey:

Summary: General folders OK. Single-edged fixed blades may be.

Max length: Under 18 may not possess knife with 5" or longer blade, or 10" or longer overall. No other apparent limitation.