Best sharpeners (Diamonds good?)

This is a discussion on Best sharpeners (Diamonds good?) within the Defensive Knives & Other Weapons forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; What is the best way to sharpen a knife? I have some knives I love and want to take care of, but I need some ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best sharpeners (Diamonds good?)

What is the best way to sharpen a knife? I have some knives I love and want to take care of, but I need some advise on sharpeners as I am a novice.

I was looking at this, but dont know if its any good?

G T Distributors Product Detail

Let me know.
    Yeah I like Glocks, wanna fight about it!

Administrator
    Diamond is the best.
    Search Ebay. They are less expensive than that on Ebay.
    Always use very little pressure with diamond hones.
    Diamond cuts even the hardest steel like it is softer than butter.
    Most people who sharpen with diamond exert too much force when attempting to sharpen. They try too hard...let the hone do the work with only three hairs and some air of pressure.

VIP Member
    I am not that familiar with diamond sharpeners I prefer a Japanese waterstone to do the initial sharpening and to set the bevel then ceramic stones to sharpen and polish the edge. Bench stones do take some practice to produce a good edge especially maintaining the proper bevel. One product to help with this is the Lansky sharpening system but there are other systems available from other makers.

Lansky Sharpeners