Would you carry a taser where a gun "cant" go?

This is a discussion on Would you carry a taser where a gun "cant" go? within the Defensive Knives & Other Weapons forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; As some of you know I'm a college student, soon to be living in a campus dorm in a pretty rough part of town unfortunately. ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Would you carry a taser where a gun "cant" go?

As some of you know I'm a college student, soon to be living in a campus dorm in a pretty rough part of town unfortunately. While state laws says that I can have my CCW pistol in the car, in the parking lot, that doesnt do me much good.

I'm an active member of "Students for concealed carry on campus" but so far that has been met with next to no serious consideration.

Equally, i am fairly limited by my choice of edged weapons. All it takes is for one tree-hugging hippie to complain to the RA that i've got "a really big knife" and that scenario will get equally unpleasant.

I'm attracted to taser's relatively new C2 model. In theory it could provide the functionality of a flashlight while giving me at least SOME measure of defense ability, and its "shaver" form probably wouldn't draw much, if any serious attention.

What do you think?
    Is it a paperweight? or the only option i've got? More importantly is it worth the $250?

TASER C2
    Last edited by Slimz13; September 13th, 2008 at 08:24 PM. Reason: added a link
    We are only as vulnerable as we are naive.

If it's legal where you are, then it just might be a compromise you have to make. Can't speak for that model, but study taser effects and limitations. Use it, as a firearm, as a last resort. Better than throwing your laptop...
    Spend few minutes learning about my journey from Zero to Athlete in this
    Then check out my blog! www.BodyByMcDonalds.com

Cupcake - 100 pound loser, adventurer, Ironman Triathlete.