Newbie Looking for First Defense Knife

This is a discussion on Newbie Looking for First Defense Knife within the Defensive Knives & Other Weapons forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Since as a college student I am not allowed to carry a firearm on campus, plus I'm not 21 yet... I've been looking for a ...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Newbie Looking for First Defense Knife

Since as a college student I am not allowed to carry a firearm on campus, plus I'm not 21 yet... I've been looking for a good self defense alternative. I understand your brain is the best defense tool you have because it can help you can avoid many situations. However, I still don't feel comfortable without a last ditch knife. I have a Leatherman and Swiss Army knife....but figured it was time to get a real knife. What I'm looking for is a good folder for about $50.

I've been looking at a few, specifically the SOG Aegis, SOG Twitch XL, Kershaw Blur, a handful of Smith and Wesson knifes, and some of the cheaper CKRT's, but still have little clue to which one I should get. I'm tempted just go down to a local store and play around with a few until I find one I like, but I usually try to get the best for the money... Any suggestions? Thanks!

Administrator
    Helpful Hint: Before you decide on any particular knife for carry...you need to find out if your state has any blade length restrictions or "assisted opening" restrictions or double edge restrictions...etc. Then go from there.

I'm currently in Texas; the limit is 5.5 inches. However, I need something that will fit in my pocket so I was thinking around 3-4in? From reading the Texas Lawbook, assisted is ok, automatic is not.

Administrator
    I carry the SOG Pentagon Elite II which has a 5" blade but, that is a longer blade length than most folks carry. I don't find it to be any sort of problem though.
    You have a lot of good choices up there.