Formal training ???

Formal training ???

This is a discussion on Formal training ??? within the Defensive Knives & Other Weapons forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; My understanding is that carrying a knife with no training on edged weapons can do more bad than good. I have very little experience on ...

Formal training ???

My understanding is that carrying a knife with no training on edged weapons can do more bad than good.

I have very little experience on the subject and would like your opinions as well as the type of training you've received.

Thanks for educating me
    The first rule of a gunfight: "Don't be there !"
    The second rule: "Bring enough gun"

jfl
    (NRA Life Member/Instructor - GOA - IDPA - GSSF - ex-IHMSA)

Anything that is carried for the purpose of defending yourself or increasing you chances of survival will be better with training. My personal feeling with edged weapons are that the whole "knife fighting" is over done. If you want to study edged weapons as a stand alone or part of a martial art then great. IMHO you are much more likely to have to defend against and edged weapon than ever use one. That was the reason for our Spontaneous Attack Survival for Edged Weapons. If you do need to use a knife for SD we use our Inverted Edge Tactics. Think of it as point shooting for knives. I see you are in FL, we just did a IET course in Miami on SUN.