Knife Tactics - Black Belt Magazine

This is a discussion on Knife Tactics - Black Belt Magazine within the Defensive Knives & Other Weapons forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Part one of a two part article on knife tactics is in the September issue of Black Belt Magazine (on newsstands now). It's written by ...

Thread: Knife Tactics - Black Belt Magazine

Knife Tactics - Black Belt Magazine

Part one of a two part article on knife tactics is in the September issue of Black Belt Magazine (on newsstands now). It's written by Michael Janich with a focus on the system he developed, Martial Blade Concepts.

Full disclosure...I'm an MBC practitioner and instructor so of course I'm pleased to see the system getting this type of exposure.

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array PastorPack's Avatar
    Here's the video content from Black Belt Mag.

Black Belt Magazine
    God is love (1 John 4:8)

Senior Member Array psychophipps's Avatar
    One interesting thing I saw was the palm up use of the top arm to protect the vessels of the inner wrist and the flexors in case of ye olde porkchop when going in. I would certainly be interested in seeing some more of this method.

njr
    I bought Janich's book on Knife Fighting and appreciated it's straightforward approach.

I thought the section on anatomy could've been done better with a full page diagram of the body with major vessels, etc. However, his run down of where to strike and what would happen were much appreciated.

Today, I took an intro-ish class at a studio in the Chicagoland area that also offers Systema. From what I could tell, our instructor was using a Filipino system with elements from Al McLuckie.