Newbie help on picking an AR

This is a discussion on Newbie help on picking an AR within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; OK, Faithful, I'm a total newbie when it comes to AR's/Assault rifles. I fear I'm going to get a dozen absolutes on what to buy. ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Newbie help on picking an AR

Distinguished Member

OK, Faithful, I'm a total newbie when it comes to AR's/Assault rifles. I fear I'm going to get a dozen absolutes on what to buy. I will also be revealing my ignorance in what I'm looking for.

Here's the deal: I'm looking for a defensive weapon. I'm not concerned with pretty or a bucket of accessories. I want something that I can pull out of the mud and shoot - something that won't have a FTF halfway through a magazine. I'm not overly concerned with "uppers" or "lowers", folding stocks, lasers or scopes. I am clueless on the plethora of caliber options.

Basically, I'm looking for "point and shoot". Because of my Nam-era training, I like the idea of a carry handle and a forward assist but that could just be my forty-year bias. Price: I 'm clueless. I'm not Daddy Deep-pockets but I will sell/save what I need to so this can come together.

Finally, meaning no disrespect, I would like some "pros" to weigh in on this. That is, guys with first hand experience and not something they read on a blog or forum. Sorry. But I bought an M1 Carbine two years ago on thin advice. I ended up giving the POJ away. Set me back a pretty penny when you include mags and ammo.
    "The heart of the wise inclines to the right, but the heart of the fool to the left." Eccl. 10:2

Bushmaster in .223/5.56.

It's what I have. A good middle of the pack rifle, that won't brake the bank.
    Don't believe what you hear and only half of what you see!
    -Tony Soprano

One name- Spikes!
    http://www.spikestactical.com/
    Kahr CW9
    Sig P239/9mm
    Ruger LC9 (when the girlfriend lets me carry her gun)