AR 15 help

AR 15 help

This is a discussion on AR 15 help within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I am new to the ar15 platform but am considering the S&W M&P15. What is the basic function, I've read a lot about gas piston, ...

Thread: AR 15 help

AR 15 help

I am new to the ar15 platform but am considering the S&W M&P15. What is the basic function, I've read a lot about gas piston, blow back? It all sounds the same to me. What is difference between the SIG 556 and the mp15? Are they 2 differnt mechanisms? Is the M&P 15 a good beginner choice?

Distinguished Member Array Tally XD's Avatar
    The standard, or more common method, is gas blow back operation. What this does is uses blow back gasses to move the bolt carrier to the rear to eject the spent round casing and strip a new round from the mag and chamber it for the next shot.

On an AR-15 gas blowback operates like this:

- Direct Gas Impingement The barrel has a port hole, very small hole, drilled into the top of the barrel somewhere between the chamber and the muzzle tip. It is usually located under the front sight. The front sight, or gas block on custom models, is drilled to match the barrel gas port. Gas from the barrel enters the gas block and travels back through a gas tube back to the upper receiver. Mounted on the bolt carrier is the gas "key". This key fits onto the gas tube, which protrudes through the receiver by a little over an inch, and makes a seal. When the gas travels through the tube to the gas key this throws the bolt carrier back. The process starts all over again.

Piston Operation is like this: