Shotgun sights and vibration

This is a discussion on Shotgun sights and vibration within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I'm new to shotguns, so I got a Mossberg Maverick for home defense and to get my feet wet with shotgunning. I put a sling ...

Thread: Shotgun sights and vibration

I'm new to shotguns, so I got a Mossberg Maverick for home defense and to get my feet wet with shotgunning. I put a sling on it, as well as a tru glo front site for better aiming with slugs.

I took it to the range yesterday and all went well. I shot buckshot at some target at about 30 yards just to see what the pattern would look like. I was using one of those political yards signs, and it pretty much covered the whole sign. After a few shots, the sign was pretty well shot up.

So I switched to the slugs... 1 oz rifled slugs for my smooth barrel. 1800fps. Man do they kick! After just a couple of slugs, the front site loosened up and was turning sideways. I had tightened it down pretty tight, so I'm wondering how to keep it in place.

I did put some loc tite on it, but I haven't had a chance to shoot it again since.

Anyone else have this problem?
    Az

-- Luck favors the well prepared.

Not familiar with the front sight you had installed, and not really familiar with the Maverick model 88. I take it there's a threaded hole for it you took the original bead sight out of? Loc-Tite may work, but,,,,sometimes those front bead sight threads are hit and miss with different manufacturers. Your new sight may not actually have threads that match the OEM threads. If your replacement sight has plastic threads then Loc-Tite won't do much good on it. May even deteriorate it.

What you need is thread locker.

Google Loctite or Permatex.

As to your shotgun and using slugs for "home defense", how large and of what construction type is your home?
    Is it the size of the Superdome or a bunker built underground?