Romainian RPK

This is a discussion on Romainian RPK within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Aim Surplus has Romainian RPKs in m7.62x39 for sale. 23 1/8" barrel. 2 mags, sling, pouch, oil bottle, butt stock cleaning kit. Side scope mount, ...

Thread: Romainian RPK

Romainian RPK

Aim Surplus has Romainian RPKs in m7.62x39 for sale. 23 1/8" barrel. 2 mags, sling, pouch, oil bottle, butt stock cleaning kit. Side scope mount, carry handle, and folding bipod. The price is $499.95.

Does anyone have any experience with the Romainian RPKs? Are they better quality than the Romainian WASRs? Because I handled a WASR NIB and it looked pretty rough. I'd rather spend a little more to get a decent AK. I'd prefer a VEPR but those are more than hard to find. A gun show might be a better place to start looking.

2. Remove Ads

I have some experience with actual RPK's of Soviet manufacture. Though some were just plain whipped, overall I found them to be a decent weapon. I felt it was too unweildy for use in urban areas/in and around vehicles and I did not think the extra barrel length did that much more for the 7.62x39mm. Given a choice, I would opt for the AK.

If you were looking for a SHTF rifle, I would pass. If you are looking for an "attention getter" with the boys at the gun club, you may have a winner. I can not comment on the price.

I'm not looking for an attention getter. Like the guy at the range who is blasting away with a .50AE Desert Eagle and can't hit crap. No, thats not me. I just want a good, modestly priced, reliable rifle that can bee used as a shtf weapon or a fun range toy.

Thanks for sharing your experience. I was thinking the barrel was a little too long and I find most normal AKs have decent combat accuracy.