hunting/sniper rifle

hunting/sniper rifle

This is a discussion on hunting/sniper rifle within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I've been looking at past threads and without starting a brand war, I'm having a hard time deciding on a .308 ar platform that is ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: hunting/sniper rifle

hunting/sniper rifle

I've been looking at past threads and without starting a brand war, I'm having a hard time deciding on a .308 ar platform that is not too heavy to carry hunting, but will also be good for 1000 meter work if needed. I've looked at DPMS, AR10,Rem25, Bushmaster,etc.,etc. I waffle between a .308 and something newer such as 6.5 creedmoore, but fall back on ammo availability. The 6.8spc strikes me as somewhat under powered for what I'm looking for. Anybody have any practical experience here that can shed some light on this? I have a Busmaster in .223 and was hoping to get an upper for it, but can't find anything suitable in a caliber I like, so it's probably going to be a new gun. The 1/10 barrels for the heavier bullets only come in 20". I'd like a 24" if I'm going to stick with a .223/5.56 which I'm not excited about doing. Thanks!
    BTW, I just ordered two Timney triggers for my Win. 70 and my AR. If anybody has some install tips, they'd be greatly appreciated..
    Light travels faster than sound...thats why some people appear bright before they speak

If you want that kind of range, with portability...you may want to forget about the semi-autos, and start looking at bolt guns. A 1000m AR is going to have a fairly long, heavy barrel and will probably come in at well over 10 pounds.

Either that, or have a hunting upper and a LR upper...something to consider.
    There are no dangerous weapons; there are only dangerous men.--RAH

...man fights with his mind; the weapons are incidental.--Jeff Cooper