Question about .308(7.62x51) military rifles

This is a discussion on Question about .308(7.62x51) military rifles within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I have a yen to put a .308(7.62x51) rifle in the safe in the future(6-9 months down the road). I am torn between the Springfield ...

Thread: Question about .308(7.62x51) military rifles

Question about .308(7.62x51) military rifles

I have a yen to put a .308(7.62x51) rifle in the safe in the future(6-9 months down the road). I am torn between the Springfield Armory M1A or the DSA FAL style rifles. Have been researching both and would like owners of both or either rifle to weigh in since I have no practical experience with either of them.. I am looking at reliability, durability and accuracy as the main considerations. Thank you in advance.

2. Remove Ads

I would take the FAL all day long over the M1A

azchevy, please tell me your reasons.

I own both and I think the Fal is a much more reliable and easier to work on platform and handles better ergonomically. Fal has a pistol grip, cheaper mags, and the DSA is sweet.

plus if I were to go m1A again i would get a ploy and put all usgi parts in it, should have done that to begin with.

Last year I was having the same debate, didn't pull the trigger on buying either. I think part of it is really ergonomics, so if you know anyone with either, try to get to shoot them. If not, go to a store and see which one feels better in your hands.

If you are looking for more of a general battle rifle, I'd go with the FAL, I think the M1A tends to have the edge in the precision accuracy department though, depending on which model you get.
    Fortes Fortuna Juvat

Former, USMC 0311, OIF/OEF vet
    NRA Pistol/Rifle/Shotgun/Reloading Instructor, RSO, Ohio CHL Instructor