What mounts to Co-Witness?

This is a discussion on What mounts to Co-Witness? within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I have a Bushmaster heavy barrel carbine model number BCWA3F16 and an Aimpoint Comp M3. I would like to mount the Aimpoint on the upper ...

Thread: What mounts to Co-Witness?

What mounts to Co-Witness?

I have a Bushmaster heavy barrel carbine model number BCWA3F16 and an Aimpoint Comp M3. I would like to mount the Aimpoint on the upper receiver to absolute cowitness with the front sight post. I was considering using the A.R.M.S.® #22M68™ Throw Lever Ring to mount the Aimpoint. But I believe a spacer is needed to raise the Aimpoint up to the front sight post and was looking at the A.R.M.S.® #38™ STD SWAN® Sleeve which would raise the Aimpoint 1/2 inch. I'm particularly concerned with the height. Does anyone know if these ARMS products will go together to get me that absolute co-witness?

2. Remove Ads

Any reason you want an absolute over a 1/3? See, even with fixed front and rear, I still don't line up all three, I just use the dot above the irons. If I need to line up all three, I just lower my head a bit and now all three are good to go.

Just curious. Personally, regardless of which I choose, I'd stay away from A.R.M.S. and go with LaRue. I've had better experiences with LaRue over A.R.M.S., KAC and even Bobro, though I must say I've only had one example of each while having a number of LaRue mounts.

The LaRue LT-150 is what you need for an absolute cowitness with the M3. I can't recommend A.R.M.S. over LaRue though I'm sure it'll work just fine. I don't know which one you would need though.

Again, I can't recommend LaRue enough for mounts, lights or optics. Also, I really prefer the 1/3 as well, YMMV.

I know this says M2, but it's for both the M2 and M3. Also, the wording is odd in the description but it is an absolute cowitness mount.

LaRue Tactical Comp M2 Mount LT-150