What slugs can go through my Mossberg

This is a discussion on What slugs can go through my Mossberg within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I bought that Mossberg 500 package with the feild/home defense barrels and i was wondering about slugs? With the 18.5 smooth bore breacher barrel, I ...

Thread: What slugs can go through my Mossberg

I bought that Mossberg 500 package with the feild/home defense barrels and i was wondering about slugs? With the 18.5 smooth bore breacher barrel, I was wondering if you could shoot slugs out of it? (I'm new to slugs so I dont know much about them) I don't want anything blowing up in my face or anything. If it is ok, has anyone tried, what distance and accuracy does it have for self defense? What type of slugs should I use? As for the 28" smooth bore feild barrel what should i use, the barrel has threads for a choke, should I leave a choke out or put a certain one in? Any help is much appreciated.

I usually keep Brennke K.O. slugs around for when I am going to shoot slugs, they can be shot from a smooth barrel with no problem. There are slugs that are designed to only be fired out of a rifled barrel, so when you find some you want to try, make sure they can be fired in smooth barrels. Usually the Sabot slugs are for rifled barrels only.

A slug will give you good accuracy out to 75-100 yards if you do your part for it. As far as SD use, I keep my shotguns loaded with 00 or #4 Buckshot, and then keep a couple of slugs on the side saddle. Slugs have their place in SD, but due to overpenetration issues, are not the best choice for your main load IMHO. Their use is for when someone shooting at you is behind cover that the 00 can not shoot through.