Tell me about the Mini 14

This is a discussion on Tell me about the Mini 14 within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I have the wants and I have them bad. I want a Mini 14. In fact, I am considering trading the AR for one. (I'd ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: Tell me about the Mini 14

I have the wants and I have them bad. I want a Mini 14. In fact, I am considering trading the AR for one. (I'd hate to do this but it's something I'm considering)

I actually do not know much about the Mini 14 but from what I have read so far, it looks like a much simpler design than an AR. I've shot one before and i really like it. Seems similar to the M1 in operation but chambered in 223.

So, I'm a noob to Mini 14, school me, please. What to look for, what to avoid, give me some direction.
    ,=====o00o _
    //___l__,\____\,__
    l_--- \___l---[]lllllll[]
    (o)_)-o- (o)_)--o-)_)

First, my disclaimer - I don't have one, but I've shot 'em. Accuracy is so-so. Decent for defense work and for coyotes if you're not fussy about humane, 1-shot kills past 100 yards. Magazines are pricey, compared to those for ARs.

That said, they're lighter than the AR and certainly fun to shoot. The newest models (within the past year or so) are supposedly more accurate, but I don't know what specific changes were made in that regard. If you're buying new, I think the chances are that you'll be happier than if you buy used.

From a functional standpoint, I much prefer the "standard" bolt handle on the Mini as opposed to the counter-intuitive charging handle on the ARs. The reliability of the Garand-style piston action is legendary, and certainly gives up nothing to the direct-impingement AR action.
    Smitty
    NRA Endowment Member
    NROI Chief Range Officer