Effective cost of DIY builds vs Quality

This is a discussion on Effective cost of DIY builds vs Quality within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; First, I did a quick search and didn't see a topic quite on track with my question. So I apologize if this is a dead ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By sgb

Thread: Effective cost of DIY builds vs Quality

Effective cost of DIY builds vs Quality

First, I did a quick search and didn't see a topic quite on track with my question. So I apologize if this is a dead horse.

I'm thinking about building an AR, not solely for cost sake, but as an engineer I love understanding how things work internally. However, it appears that one can build a no frills AR for about $700 from places like PSA. I know S&W sells a cheaper model for fun. My question is, on a good, respectable kit like one from PSA, what would the gun retail for if it was a normal stock model? Meaning, is the quality of these DIY kits the same as the S&W sport or are they better parts? As I am an electrical engineer, some of these mechanical parts escape me, such as, what makes a higher quality gun? Is it just the quality of the materials, or is there a better fundamental design in the more expensive ones?

Sorry for the long post, but I would appreciate some insight, and any tips that you may have for a feller contemplating a DIY build.

Thanks!

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array AKsrule's Avatar
    Generally speaking , a rifle built to military standards will be of higher overall quality than one built strictly as a cost effective commercial offering.

There ARE differences in material and quality control between the cheapest and the most expensive.

That said - Colt , Armalite , LMT and S&W stand above all others.

If you need to save some money it's perfectly alright to match a High End upper assembly with a less expensive lower.

IMHO I would budget for $800 -$900 so as not to end up with compromises.