Stuck Barrel Nut (Bushmaster)

This is a discussion on Stuck Barrel Nut (Bushmaster) within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I have a Bushmaster carbine with the welded on flash suppressor and am trying to remove the barrel to install a free float railed hand ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Stuck Barrel Nut (Bushmaster)

Stuck Barrel Nut (Bushmaster)

I have a Bushmaster carbine with the welded on flash suppressor and am trying to remove the barrel to install a free float railed hand gaurd but the barrel nut appears to be stuck. I am using Bushmaster's Barrel Vise Jaw Blocks to hold the barrel and Armorer's Barrel Wrench but the barrel spins in the barrel vise when I try to remove the nut. It is as if the nut is welded on. If I tighten the vise on the barrel any tighter I am afraid I will start to crush the barrel. I have already broken one vise tightening it down on the barrel. What the hell am I doing wrong am I missing something?

Please no BS about the Bushmaster or I should have bought a better AR, or whatever. It is what I have and what I am working on. Any help with getting this freaking nut loose would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
    tubadude likes this.
    Abort the Obamanation not the Constitution

Those who would, deny, require permit, license, certification, or authorization for me to bear arms are as vile, dangerous & evil as those who would molest, abuse, assault, rape or murder my family

2. Remove Ads

Well, I found out the hard way that Bushmaster uses red loc-tite on their castle nuts.

Maybe they use it elsewhere on their rifles.
    Fortes Fortuna Juvat

Former, USMC 0311, OIF/OEF vet
    NRA Pistol/Rifle/Shotgun/Reloading Instructor, RSO, Ohio CHL Instructor

VIP Member
    If they do use red Locktite then heating the barrel nut may soften the Locktite enough to allow the barrel nut to be removed.
    HotGuns likes this.