Shotgun Storage - Need Help

This is a discussion on Shotgun Storage - Need Help within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; My dad got me a Mossberg 590 for my birthday. I was looking for some help on how to store my new baby? I don't ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: Shotgun Storage - Need Help

Shotgun Storage - Need Help

My dad got me a Mossberg 590 for my birthday. I was looking for some help on how to store my new baby? I don't have a safe so it will stored empty with a gun lock (kids around). Basically I am pretty new to shotguns and want to make sure it doesn't get any rust or anything. Any ideas? Gun sock?

2. Remove Ads

I have always liked this approach: take two bike style garage hooks, and put them inside a walk in closet, above the door. That way, you have to walk in the closet and look above the door to see it. You also could possibly find a way to add an anchor into a stud to put the a cable lock around.

Unless you store it in a really humid area, rust isn't much of an issue.
    Fortes Fortuna Juvat

Former, USMC 0311, OIF/OEF vet
    NRA Pistol/Rifle/Shotgun/Reloading Instructor, RSO, Ohio CHL Instructor

Thanks, that is exactly how I planned on storing it in terms of location. Just trying to sure it doesn't rust.

Quote Originally Posted by buckeye .45 View Post
    I have always liked this approach: take two bike style garage hooks, and put them inside a walk in closet, above the door. That way, you have to walk in the closet and look above the door to see it. You also could possibly find a way to add an anchor into a stud to put the a cable lock around.

Unless you store it in a really humid area, rust isn't much of an issue.
    Exactly what I was going to suggest. It's how I used to store my hunting rifle when my boys were toddlers. A long time ago...in a galaxy....
    To avoid rust, give it a spray with light oil and then wipe with a soft cloth.
    ccman likes this.