Entry level AR?

This is a discussion on Entry level AR? within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I'm a noob to the AR platform but have been very interested in acquiring one. I was wondering what you guys reccomend as an entry ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Entry level AR?

Entry level AR?

I'm a noob to the AR platform but have been very interested in acquiring one. I was wondering what you guys reccomend as an entry level AR? I'm not looking for something to storm Baghdad with, just something to shoot occassionally and be reliable enough in a SD situation. I've kinda had my eyes on M&P sport and DPMS...
    NRA Life Member

2. Remove Ads

Del-Ton You can probably pick one up for $1000 or under, complete and simple.
    Vietnam Vets, WELCOME HOME

Crossman 760 BB/Pellet, Daisy Red Ryder, Crossman Wrist Rocket, 14 Steak Knives, 3 Fillet Knives, Rolling Pin-14", Various Hunting Knives, 2 Baseball Bats, 3 Big Dogs and a big American Flag flying in the yard. I have no firearms; Try the next house.

VIP Member
    The thing about ARs is that there really isn't an entry level. Top shelf stuff is available within a hundred to two hundred bucks of the bottom feeders. The S&W M&P Sport is made by a reputable company and truly is aimed at the entry level buyer. DPMS just makes junk.

If you are looking for the best possible "all around" deal on a "good" AR I'll suggest looking at Palmetto State Armory. there is so much more to this though and you'd better put your reading hat on.

Quote Originally Posted by mprp View Post
    Del-Ton You can probably pick one up for $1000 or under, complete and simple.
    Crap. You can get a Colt or BCM for $1050. You could get a PSA for $700 and it would be better than a Del Ton. OP you really need to study this stuff. Do a search and get cracking. Otherwise you'll overspend and get a turd.
    Mark Twain: