New to ARs, will this work, coments welcome

This is a discussion on New to ARs, will this work, coments welcome within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Well i'm pretty new to the ar15s but i have been reading alot about them. I've been wanting to get one for a while but ...

Like Tree4Likes
  • 2 Post By atctimmy
  • 1 Post By ghost tracker
  • 1 Post By zacii

Thread: New to ARs, will this work, coments welcome

Well i'm pretty new to the ar15s but i have been reading alot about them. I've been wanting to get one for a while but cant find one i like, so i thought i would build one. I've seen countless building videos on youtube and im pretty sure i can do it. I know what i want so i thought i would list everything and see if it would work. I hope some of the more experienced builders will give me their two cents.

Stag Arms stripped lower, Stag Arms LPK, Stag Arms Aftermarket 6 pos Stock Kit, undecided on what buttstock but i know it has to be mil spec

Stag Arms A3 Flattop Upper Assy, Daniel Defense 16" 5.56mm Mid-Length, 1:7, LW Profile w/low profile gas block, mid lenth gas tube from BCM,
    Midwest Industries SS series OR Midwest Industries GEN2 SS series handguard undecieded

I think i need help on the bolt carrier group and charging handle. Whats the difference in a regular bcg and a chrome bcg. Any good recemendations on these.
    Please tell me what you think, also if you see anything that wont work let me know. Thanks for all input.

VIP Member
    Stock: Go with MOE

BCG: go with a BCM full auto BCG
    zacii and DefConGun like this.
    It is surely true that you can lead a horse to water but you can't make them drink. Nor can you make them grateful for your efforts.

Do you need an FFL to buy the various pieces or only complete guns?

VIP Member
    Quote Originally Posted by BHOWPE View Post
    Do you need an FFL to buy the various pieces or only complete guns?