Defensive Carry banner

New to ARs, will this work, coments welcome

2K views 13 replies 11 participants last post by  ghost tracker 
#1 ·
Well i'm pretty new to the ar15s but i have been reading alot about them. I've been wanting to get one for a while but cant find one i like, so i thought i would build one. I've seen countless building videos on youtube and im pretty sure i can do it. I know what i want so i thought i would list everything and see if it would work. I hope some of the more experienced builders will give me their two cents.

Stag Arms stripped lower, Stag Arms LPK, Stag Arms Aftermarket 6 pos Stock Kit, undecided on what buttstock but i know it has to be mil spec

Stag Arms A3 Flattop Upper Assy, Daniel Defense 16" 5.56mm Mid-Length, 1:7, LW Profile w/low profile gas block, mid lenth gas tube from BCM,
Midwest Industries SS series OR Midwest Industries GEN2 SS series handguard undecieded

I think i need help on the bolt carrier group and charging handle. Whats the difference in a regular bcg and a chrome bcg. Any good recemendations on these.
Please tell me what you think, also if you see anything that wont work let me know. Thanks for all input.

See less See more
#5 ·
lot of parts going on there. I started out with my first AR from Rock River once I learned it and shot it in a few matches and had an idea of what I really wanted, I decided to build my own. I admire you for building your first one. I think you will change it up a bit once you start to use it. good luck.

#6 ·
Only lower receiver is serialized & requires purchase from FFL. All remaining components are buy-anywhere. To the OP, you seem to really like Stag parts (which is fine), chrome BCG is easier at cleaning-time. But it really doesn't matter what you use & how you configure it. If it's your 1st AR, it's gonna' take a LOT more buy & try cycles before you get exactly what it is that you want. Funny, but (IMHO) the more you learn about the AR, the simpler AR you want to own!