Rifle for Home Defense?

Rifle for Home Defense?

This is a discussion on Rifle for Home Defense? within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Howdy Everyone: Being a former Marine veteran I am very comforable shooting an AR- rifle and I am looking for a rifle that is no ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By txron

Thread: Rifle for Home Defense?

Rifle for Home Defense?

Howdy Everyone:
    Being a former Marine veteran I am very comforable shooting an AR- rifle and I am looking for a rifle that is no longer than 36 inches in lenght and has at least an 16 inch barrel!If you could recommend name a brand(that's reliable)
    rifle considering the fore-mentioned I would be thankfull
    for your wise advise!.

Time to grab a mug of coffee!

P.S. I will spend $$ for a reliable functioning rifle!
    Last edited by Sneaky; July 24th, 2012 at 03:58 PM.

Are you looking for an AR? I use a 10.5" AR for home defense and as a work rifle. With the right ammo, it's ideal for about any situation out to 200 yards, give or take, depending on ammo. I know a couple guys using lever action 30/30's as well.
    Proven combat techniques may not be flashy and may require a bit more physical effort on the part of the shooter. Further, they may not win competition matches, but they will help ensure your survival in a shooting or gunfight on the street. ~Paul Howe

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    Same except the lever action. Wife has a shotgun on her side of the bed also.

Curious what folks think of a .22 LR like a 10/22. I know friends that like them for HD. (not much penetration and with a 30 rd magazine provides a lot of fire quickly)

Quote Originally Posted by jonconsiglio View Post
    Are you looking for an AR? I use a 10.5" AR for home defense and as a work rifle. With the right ammo, it's ideal for about any situation out to 200 yards, give or take, depending on ammo. I know a couple guys using lever action 30/30's as well.