Bushmaster AR-15 e2s Ammo?

This is a discussion on Bushmaster AR-15 e2s Ammo? within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I'm sure it's been discussed ad nauseum here but I'm a newbie. Is it safe to fire 5.56 and 223 in this weapon? I have ...

Thread: Bushmaster AR-15 e2s Ammo?

I'm sure it's been discussed ad nauseum here but I'm a newbie. Is it safe to fire 5.56 and 223 in this weapon?

I have heard multiple answers to this question.

Bushmaster - Home Defense & Recreation Rifles

Distinguished Member Array sid1's Avatar
    The .223 Remington and 5.5645 NATO cartridges are very similar, and externally appear the same. But there are some differences that lie beneath the surface.
    The 5.56 case has thicker walls to handle higher pressures, meaning the interior volume of the case is smaller than that of a .223. This will alter the loading data used when reloading 5.56 brass to .223 specs.
    Some 5.56 loads have a slightly longer overall length than commercial .223 loads.

So to answer your question yes from the link you sent it is cambered as 5.56.
    Also in the discription it states;

16" M4 Profile Barrel chambered for 5.56mm NATO/.223 Rem. caliber, – Chrome Lined in both Bore and Chamber for long wear and ease of maintenance – standard threaded muzzle (1/2” x 28 T.p.I.) fitted with Izzy Flash Suppressor. Barrel finish is mil. spec. Manganese Phosphate for protection against corrosion and rust

Your barrel should be stamped 5.56. .223 is acceptable in this rifle. The 5.56 in a .223 bolt action rifle is questionable for the pressures. I have a link.....try to find for you...............
    Not the one I've had for years, but a quick search tells the same. The Gun Zone -- SAAMI on 5.56 v. .223 Remington

Distinguished Member Array Burns's Avatar
    From what I understand:

If the barrel is stamped 5.56 you can use either 5.56 or .223, if the barrel is stamped .223 you may NOT use 5.56