Do any of you guys run Iron sights on your AR?

This is a discussion on Do any of you guys run Iron sights on your AR? within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I have a Bushmaster AR A2 type AR. I did have a flat top but I could not use a red dot sight so I ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree30Likes

Thread: Do any of you guys run Iron sights on your AR?

I have a Bushmaster AR A2 type AR. I did have a flat top but I could not use a red dot sight so I got rid of it. So do any of you guys use the factory iron sights like I do?
    Have Fun and Shoot Straight !!

VIP Member
    I use both iron sights (a flip up rear) and an Eotech Red Dot on my M16-A1 patrol rifle, I really like how versatile that set up is. My rear sigh is a multi-aperture peep for 0-10 yards and 10+. My red dot is zeroed at 25 yards.

I know that's far different than most here, but mine is primarily built for use indoors...It's an 11.5" SBR
    Last edited by sigmanluke; August 4th, 2012 at 02:25 PM. Reason: clarity
    "The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants."
    Thomas Jefferson

I have two 20" rifles with standard carry handle sights. This is the BUIS I use on my carbine, and it gets used about as much as the Aimpoint.

Matech Mil-Spec Back up Iron Sight W/ranging: Amazon.com: Sports & Outdoors

I still use the factory sights (on removable carry handle). Hey....that's the way I learned. I also use a red dot sight on the carry handle, and a scope on the flat top on occasion. I also have a BUIS for use on the flat top. I like modular, but basics are still good.

EdC
    I used the iron sights on the removable carry handle. Sometimes I use a Millet DMS 1 scope, but I like the way the rifle (LE6920) balances with just the irons.

Thats all I use. Worked well enough for me around the world. Its plenty good enough for what I do now.