Best pistol pairing for a Bushmaster 9MM Carbine 16"

This is a discussion on Best pistol pairing for a Bushmaster 9MM Carbine 16" within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I am a total newb to firearms but am becoming more familiar with them and trying to educate myself further so forgive my seemingly stupid ...

Thread: Best pistol pairing for a Bushmaster 9MM Carbine 16"

I am a total newb to firearms but am becoming more familiar with them and trying to educate myself further so forgive my seemingly stupid and simple questions. I am absolutely entranced by the lure of a 9mm Carbine assault rifle I used a few weeks ago and am looking into making a purchase soon. I am wanting to buy a 9mm pistol to go along with so that I can share ammo between both firearms. Which would you recommend pairing with a Bushmaster 9MM Carbine 16"???

Thank you! Again...Sorry for my lack of knowledge

The Bushmaster 9mm carbines use a proprietary magazine, so there is no change of sharing magazines, which would be nice and something to help your decision if it was available. for example, some carbines run off of Glock magazines, which makes a Glock a natural pairing.

What do you want to use the 9mm pistol for? Concealed carry, home defense, target shooting, plinking?
    Fortes Fortuna Juvat

Former, USMC 0311, OIF/OEF vet
    NRA Pistol/Rifle/Shotgun/Reloading Instructor, RSO, Ohio CHL Instructor

Ugh, I was obviously misinformed. Someone had mentioned the possibility of sharing ammo between a carbine assault rifle and pistol. I don't know how that works. I'd be using the 9mm for home defense and target shooting. Let me rephrase then. I'm basically looking for a primary carbine weapon and a pistol for accompaniment that can use the same ammo. If you know of any specific models, that would be very helpful.

Quote Originally Posted by SurvivalQueen View Post