Question about AR optics

This is a discussion on Question about AR optics within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Im new to the AR world and am looking at a colt 6920. I have not handled one yet but have a question. If I ...

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By RKM
  • 1 Post By atctimmy
  • 1 Post By Doodle

Thread: Question about AR optics

Question about AR optics

Im new to the AR world and am looking at a colt 6920. I have not handled one yet but have a question. If I mount an optic will the front iron sight need to be removed. It looks in pictures like it would be in the field of view.

2. Remove Ads

Depending on what type of optic, but typically no, you will not need to remove it. I run an Aimpoint with or without the 3x and an ACOG 4x32 with both folding and fixed front irons with no issues at all. Of course with magnified optics we need a folding rear, but a fixed front is good to go.
    Proven combat techniques may not be flashy and may require a bit more physical effort on the part of the shooter. Further, they may not win competition matches, but they will help ensure your survival in a shooting or gunfight on the street. ~Paul Howe

Funny whenever a question shows up on this sub forum and Jon has already posted, my first thought is, "well I'm not going to have anything useful to add, oh well may as well open the thread to see what Jon had to say about it." One of these days someone's going to ask about submarine nuclear propulsion... At least I can know the answer and just say I can't talk about it.

RKM