.223 ammo question

.223 ammo question

This is a discussion on .223 ammo question within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I'm new to the AR15 so I have to ask, I was reading some various threads on the rifle and noticed someone dissing another guy ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: .223 ammo question

.223 ammo question

I'm new to the AR15 so I have to ask, I was reading some various threads on the rifle and noticed someone dissing another guy for shooting steel case ammo (Russian). The guy quickly answered back he didn't shoot it but only kept it on hand for SHTF.

So my question, what's wrong with it? What should I buy?

Buy it. If it functions well in your AR, then run it with no worries.

Steel ammo is known to get stuck in the chamber of some guns, but it may work well in yours. You'll just have to try it and see.

I only buy brass because I reload.
    Trust in God and keep your powder dry

"A heavily armed citizenry is not about overthrowing the government; it is about preventing the government from overthrowing liberty. A people stripped of their right of self defense is defenseless against their own government." -source

Mine is 5.56 does that make any difference or does the steel simply not work in some guns?

What is your brand of choice?

In days gone by, steel case ammo could be corrosive or not have the proper coatings that would allow them to seize up in the chamber. Most of the modern steel case ammo is properly coated so that those problems no longer exist.

I have heard some folks argue that they'd never use steel case ammo in their rifle and I've heard others talk about how they've run 1000s of rounds of it through their rifle.