Just picked up my first AR15, what to do now?

This is a discussion on Just picked up my first AR15, what to do now? within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hello all, I just purchased a brand new Windham Weaponry AR15. I've heard great things about it and decided to take the plunge. I'm brand ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree14Likes

Thread: Just picked up my first AR15, what to do now?

Hello all,

I just purchased a brand new Windham Weaponry AR15. I've heard great things about it and decided to take the plunge. I'm brand new to this whole AR15 thing so I'm not totally sure where to proceed from here. I will probably end up customizing this rifle extensively as I get time, but any pointers on where to get started? The gun comes with sights already installed, though the rear sights can be folded down, presumably to allow other rail mounted optics.

Some things I've been thinking about are a new railed handguard, optics and grip. Any ideas or advice? What are considered the top of the line brands for the magazines? Is it generally worth it to buy a foregrip?

Thanks for any and all advice?

Also, as an aside, how does the AR15 compare to a shotgun for home defense?

Ar's are very fun guns. As for customizing there is so so much you can do. Mags I recommend p-mags they are awesome I've never had one do anything to malfunction. First steps I'd take are optics depending what you want there are countless possibility
    Here's two of mine give you an idea

Just my two cents nothing beats shotgun for home defence
    Attached Images

Customizing will depend on what you plan to use the weapon for. As for magazines many on this forum favor Magpul. Shop around on the internet for a good price on them.
    PMAG® MAGAZINES

My Colt limited edition M4 Carbine
    "One of the greatest delusions in the world is the hope that the evils in this world are to be cured by legislation."