870 Project (long)

This is a discussion on 870 Project (long) within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; When I was a kid, I hunted almost exclusively with my dad's 870 Wingmaster. He got it for his 18th birthday from his father in ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 870 Project (long)

Distinguished Member Array randytulsa2's Avatar

870 Project (long)

When I was a kid, I hunted almost exclusively with my dad's 870 Wingmaster. He got it for his 18th birthday from his father in 1953.

I still measure a long gun's function by how it operated.

In college a re-load from a buddy of mine blew out the last couple of inches behind the muzzle. We took it to a machine shop and had it shortened. When I graduated from college and moved away, I gave my dad his shotgun back.

A few months later and 1200 miles away, I bought an 870 myself. I didn't know there was a difference, but I what I bought in 1989 was an 870 "Express", not a "Wingmaster". It lasted about 10 years of moderate use before parts started wearing out, it began jamming and otherwise falling apart.

I got another one the year after I got rid of it. It was a gift from my best friend's dad, also an "Express", and pretty well-used (but I ain't NEVER turnin' down no free gun). It has never ejected properly. My buddy's dad also gave me Hastings barrel for it, which felt remarkably like the barrel on my dad's gun (except it was a wee bit longer, as it hadn't been blown up by bad re-load).

Today, while perusing in my local gun shop I saw an old, old 870 Wingmaster in the barrel the owner usually reserves for trashy guns. It looked rough and it was rusted in some places.

But when I worked the action, I felt the old Wingmaster magic. The metal was thin and smooth, not that thick, marbly, spongy rough stuff they use on the "Express" nowdays. The grip was thin, just like dad's. The length of pull was short enough for me, too. Just like dad's.