Troy Defense 556 vs Ruger SR-556?

This is a discussion on Troy Defense 556 vs Ruger SR-556? within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I am new to the AR world, and I am trying to get some opinions as to the which might be the best AR for ...

View Poll Results: Which?

Voters
20. You may not vote on this poll
  • Troy Defense 556

4 20.00%
  • Ruger SR-556

8 40.00%
  • Other - Please name and why.

8 40.00%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Troy Defense 556 vs Ruger SR-556?

Senior Member Array TonyDTrigger's Avatar

Troy Defense 556 vs Ruger SR-556?

I am new to the AR world, and I am trying to get some opinions as to the which might be the best AR for under or around $1500. I like these 2, and I am leaning towards the Ruger. If anyone believes there is another brand that's better for the price I am looking for any suggestions. I appreciate your input.

It must be well built and reliable, and it will be used for HD and range time.

2. Remove Ads

Similar, but different sub-species. The Troy is a direct impingement gun whereas the Ruger is a gas piston action.

Both are substantial guns, but Troy has been in the AR game longer and their stuff has been demonstrated to be pretty bulletproof. I think you'd have to give them some very hard use to see which one gives up first, but I'd give the nod to Troy.
    Smitty
    NRA Endowment Member

A Dicks Sporting Goods store just opened close to my house last Saturday, and I went to look at the Troy D. I was impressed with its tight construction and feel, also with the price.

I prefer ruger, however (and I don't know) if ruger doesn't use standard ar mags. I would go with Troy. but a colt le6920 is the way to go for under $1500. I did.
    david

VIP Member