Review: Palmetto State Armory 16" Mid-length AR-15

This is a discussion on Review: Palmetto State Armory 16" Mid-length AR-15 within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Disclosure: This is a post I made on a local state forum, but figured I would share it here. I am currently a AR-15 newbie. ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: Review: Palmetto State Armory 16" Mid-length AR-15

Review: Palmetto State Armory 16" Mid-length AR-15

Disclosure: This is a post I made on a local state forum, but figured I would share it here. I am currently a AR-15 newbie. This is only my second AR15. I did a lot of research and reading before I ordered any parts. I wanted as close to Mil-Spec as I could afford, and I felt like PSA was a good value.

I built my very first AR15 Lower late this Summer. I had ordered two Lowers and one Lower Parts Kit (LPK) from Palmetto State Armory, and got everything in sometime middle of August. I acquired a couple tools for the job, but still don't have some of the ones that make things easier like Roll Pin Starter Punches, Roll Pin Punches, Hammer Block and pivot pin installer tool. I went slow and took my time. Watched and re-watched the MidwayUSA.com and Brownell's.com videos on how to build a AR Lower. It was a lot of fun, and it's kind of cool to have a almost finished AR rifle I have built myself.

I couldn't stand it while PSA was having their "Upper Madness" sale over the Labor Day Weekend, and I ordered a 16" Mid-length LW Upper with FSB for $279. I also picked up the Bolt Carrier Group and a Charging handle, so I would have a functional gun when the upper got here.

-------------------------------------------------15 Days go by waiting on my Upper to arrive at the house-----------------------------------------