Are pistol grips WITH shoulder stock a good option for HD shotgun?

This is a discussion on Are pistol grips WITH shoulder stock a good option for HD shotgun? within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hi. I'm a newbie who has searched the forums, but still puzzled over this issue. I'm looking to get my first shotgun for home defense. ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Cuda66

Thread: Are pistol grips WITH shoulder stock a good option for HD shotgun?

Are pistol grips WITH shoulder stock a good option for HD shotgun?

Hi. I'm a newbie who has searched the forums, but still puzzled over this issue. I'm looking to get my first shotgun for home defense. I have held the Benelli SuperNova Tactical with the pistol grip, and to me it feels very comfortable... in the store, i.e.I haven't fired it. I see a LOT of people giving thumbs down on pistol grips, but that seems to apply mostly to shotguns with pistol grips only (I have zero interest in those). So, my question: does a shotgun that has BOTH the pistol grip and a good stock, like the SuperNova Tactical w/grip or the Remington 870 Express Tactical BLACKHAWK, make a good choice?
    Or does the pistol grip get in the way, like making it harder to aim or pull the pump? I want both my wife and I to be comfortable using it, and practicing a lot with it.
    Thanks for any input.

2. Remove Ads

I have an older Choate folding stock (with pistol grip) on my 20" 870. I like it a lot. I rarely use the gun folded as it just isn't that great to shoot with a pistol grip only, but with the stock extended and shouldered, the pistol grip actually works better for me than a conventional shotgun grip. I also added a pistol grip forestock. Works like a charm. Each to his own I guess.

870.jpg
    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

I don't care for them on my 870, for my HD gun I just want something simple that I'm used to - a pistol grip doesn't feel natural on a shotgun (to me).