Cleaning Question for Rifle

This is a discussion on Cleaning Question for Rifle within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Okay- I am new to cleaning a tactical rifle. How do you suggest I clean the bore? I have copper solvent to get any copper ...

Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By Smitty901
  • 3 Post By gasmitty
  • 1 Post By remington79

Thread: Cleaning Question for Rifle

Cleaning Question for Rifle

Okay-

I am new to cleaning a tactical rifle.

How do you suggest I clean the bore? I have copper solvent to get any copper buildup, I have hoppes cleaning solvent and REM oil. Today I just went through with a bit of copper solvent because I shot over the weekend a little bit. Then I coated the parts with some REM oil before putting it back together.

For thorough cleaning, do you suggest I do copper solvent, then hoppes in the bore and hoppes in the chamber?

2. Remove Ads

Bore does not need to be cleaned every firing , only if you going to put it away for a longtime, some manufactures say you do more damage over clean the barrel than by firing it. run a patch with CLP on it down the barrel pass a few more through you good there is no need to use copper cleaners and solvents with wire brush every cleaning.
    The BCG it going to be a mess if you did some serious shooting it may take some work getting the carbon off the Extractor.
    It your using a stand DI weapon your going to need to do a bit more detailed cleaning it will have residue everywhere. It the lower is a mess full of grit you can flush it out with a mild gun cleaner or WD 40 just make sure you dry it and lube it.
    Now if you using corrosive ammo even if it just primes the game changes, soap and water rinse dry, then clean as normal, some use windex.