Is magnum necessary for a home defense shotgun?

This is a discussion on Is magnum necessary for a home defense shotgun? within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I'm pretty new to shotguns. The only one I have is an heirloom Model 11 that I wouldn't dare shoot anyway. I know the Remington ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree23Likes

Thread: Is magnum necessary for a home defense shotgun?

I'm pretty new to shotguns. The only one I have is an heirloom Model 11 that I wouldn't dare shoot anyway. I know the Remington 870 or Mossberg 500 are the HD standards. Should I be looking for one that takes magnum shells or is that not necessary? I noticed the Winchester PDX1 shells don't say magnum on them so maybe not?

Thanks

I've taken three combat shotgun courses. Never used magnum loads and none of the intstructors ever advocated a need for magnum loads.

I have a Mossberg 590 A1 shotgun which is chambered for 3 inch magnum loads. However, I always use regular 2 3/4 inch loads in 00 buck, No. 1 buck or regular 2 3/4 inch slugs loads.
    BeefyG, TX expat, OD* and 4 others like this.
    -Bark'n
    Semper Fi

"The gun is the great equalizer... For it is the gun, that allows the meek to repel the monsters; Whom are bigger, stronger and without conscience, prey on those who without one, would surely perish."

OK thanks!

No. I didn't really read all of Tangle's thread about the energy individual pellets, but a 2 3/4" load or even reduced recoil load is good to go. I've shot stuff with a 12 gauge; they results were impressive.

Magnum shells not needed for any defensive shotgun. A good shell is the 2 3/4" Federal or Winchester LE load; most LEO's use these in their guns. These can be bought with copper shot which adds a bit to penetration.
    "Better to be judged by 12 than carried by 6"

Flight Surgeon, USAF
    Law Enforcement Tactical Surgeon

NRA Patron Member

VIP Member