Purchase advice for a semi-auto rifle

This is a discussion on Purchase advice for a semi-auto rifle within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Apologies for what may be an extremely redundant topic... I am new to the experience. I have a S&W M&P22 that I enjoy (when I ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Purchase advice for a semi-auto rifle

Purchase advice for a semi-auto rifle

Apologies for what may be an extremely redundant topic...

I am new to the experience. I have a S&W M&P22 that I enjoy (when I can find ammo)

I was interested in picking up something in a larger caliber, but frankly, the choices are too much to understand. 223/556, 30-06, something else?

I see a ton of options, styles, sizes, prices, and I'm lost.

I'm looking for something semi-auto that I can attach a nice Zeiss scope onto, but doesn't cost an arm and a leg. Maybe $1000 is the target price. Something for closer-in use, as I'm not looking to reach a mile in accuracy. Also, the ammo availability is one consideration.

If anyone has any links to what they like that I can look at, I'd appreciate the guidance.

2. Remove Ads

mkh
    Other than "closer in" what do you plan to use it for?

That info would help us taylor our responses.

What range are you planning on using it? Just target shooting, hunting?
    You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself, "I have lived through this horror. I can take the next thing that comes along." . . . You must do the thing you think you cannot do. Eleanor Roosevelt

For $1000 in today's political climate, you're not going to find much of anything.