Thoughts from an AR15 armorer

This is a discussion on Thoughts from an AR15 armorer within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I attended an AR15 armorer’s class this weekend. Here is his bio: I am a veteran of both the U.S Army (Infantry) and U.S Coast ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree15Likes

Thread: Thoughts from an AR15 armorer

VIP Member Array ExactlyMyPoint's Avatar

I attended an AR15 armorer’s class this weekend. Here is his bio:

I am a veteran of both the U.S Army (Infantry) and U.S Coast Guard (Gunners’ Mate) with almost 10 years of total active duty service. Having completed a deployment to the Middle East in support of operations Iraqi and Enduring Freedom in 2005, I entered into the private sector working in Iraq and Afghanistan as an armorer/instructor for a variety of large private military companies on various Department of Defense and the Department of State contracts. I have worked for Triple Canopy, Blackwater USA, Olive Group (UK) and SOC-SMG. I have attended and completed numerous factory armorer courses from such companies as Beretta, Barrett, Colt, Dillon Aero, FN-USA, Glock, Knights’ Armament, Remington, and SigSauer.

I have extensive experience working on and maintaining weapons in hostile environments with almost 6 years of time in Iraq and Afghanistan. I have worked extensively with the M16 family of weapons, AK47′s, PKM machine guns, M240/M249 machine guns, Glock pistols and numerous other small arms.
    Excellent class. Very patient man. He also knows what he is doing. Here are several take aways I got from his class.

1. If a company advertises “mil spec”, it generally does not mean much. This term is thrown around more than “tactical”. What matters is does your mil spec definition match up to the TDP (technical data package) released by the military to the manufacturer of the part. It has very specific requirements to meet mil spec.