Does "twist-rate" apply to pistol-caliber carbines?

This is a discussion on Does "twist-rate" apply to pistol-caliber carbines? within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Just as the title says... Does twist-rate apply to pistol-caliber carbines ? Specifically, a 9mm Beretta Cx4 Storm Carbine? I've seen and read a good ...

Like Tree4Likes
  • 2 Post By MidWorld
  • 1 Post By OD*
  • 1 Post By OD*

Thread: Does "twist-rate" apply to pistol-caliber carbines?

Does "twist-rate" apply to pistol-caliber carbines?

Just as the title says... Does twist-rate apply to pistol-caliber carbines? Specifically, a 9mm Beretta Cx4 Storm Carbine? I've seen and read a good bit about twist-rates for AR-15 ammo in 5.56/.223 caliber, but have not seen the same info applied to pistol calibers. Does this mean that it is not as important in stabilizing the heavier bullets in 9mm? Thanks for any and all information. I'm new to the rifle market, and would like to understand the differences other than the obvious weight and speed differences in the types of ammunition.
    Last edited by vilecanards; April 28th, 2013 at 12:39 PM.

2. Remove Ads

Twist rate is applicable to anything with rifling.

I think there is generally less deviation in 9mm twist rates than 5.56 though.
    Fortes Fortuna Juvat

Former, USMC 0311, OIF/OEF vet
    NRA Pistol/Rifle/Shotgun/Reloading Instructor, RSO, Ohio CHL Instructor