Need suggestions on 12G slug gun

This is a discussion on Need suggestions on 12G slug gun within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I'm fairly new to purchasing guns but have been shooting a long time (had help w/ brother & male friends) so please don't think I'm ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need suggestions on 12G slug gun

Distinguished Member

I'm fairly new to purchasing guns but have been shooting a long time (had help w/ brother & male friends) so please don't think I'm an idiot on this.

I have a Winchester 12G BA and was told at the pawn shop it is a gas powered gun and was great for skeet which I want to learn to do. When purchasing ammo, I bought some slugs too. Now I hear that a slug needs a slug gun and that a slug will mess up my gun (a gunsmith told me this).

What is a CHEAP 12G I can get to shoot my slugs in? I'm talking under $300. I think I want a pump action because this will be a gun to keep by the door or just for safety in general.

Oh, and also, will my .22ar be a good choice for night time protection to keep by the bed? It's easy to hold and I'm thinking if I'm sleepy and it having a lot of bullets it would be good but I'm not sure?

Mossberg 500.... look for the slug / bird barrel combo. then you are covered for both. You wont find a good semi auto for 300 buclks or less. as far as the 22 ar goes, not my first choice but it beats a pointy stick and a handful of rocks. Any extra holes, no matter the size, always equals a bad day for a bg...and with a 22 you can empty a 10 rnd mag into his chest very quickly.... but...if you get the shotgun...slap on the bird barrel, throw in an appropriate choke tube and rock some buckshot. much better combo for HD IMO than the 22.

Mossberg & Sons | 54243