NOOB: Need help with my new AR-15

NOOB: Need help with my new AR-15

This is a discussion on NOOB: Need help with my new AR-15 within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I'm very new to AR-15's and need some help! I have a Bushmaster Carbon .223. It might be a Carbon 15, but I'm not sure. ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: NOOB: Need help with my new AR-15

Question NOOB: Need help with my new AR-15

I'm very new to AR-15's and need some help! I have a Bushmaster Carbon .223. It might be a Carbon 15, but I'm not sure. (How do I tell?) First, off I have heard some bad things about these after buying it. Most of what I read was supposedly the earlier model of the Carbon and that they have worked out all the problems now. But it scared me when a LGS salesman recently told me that one blew up in his face. Do I need to be worried? Is the carbon lower safe? Anything I need to know as far as types of ammo and rapid firing it maybe being an issue?

Also, I am having a FTF issue sometimes with it. At first, it only happened with my Magpul polymer mag and never with the factory issued metallic mag. I have only ever bought steel cased ammo for it because I do not do reloading and I heard that was the only downside to steel. When I get a FTF the tip of the round is sometimes noticeably damaged at the tip. So I started only using the factory mag but it recently happened again with that mag - twice in a row. I could never get the Magpul mag to work, but with the factory one all I have to do is drop the mag, push the round all the way in and reinsert the mag and then all is well, usually. Is this because of steel cased ammo?