New AR

New AR

This is a discussion on New AR within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hi Looking for my first AR. I'm having a hard time finding a colt, Daniel defense or bcm at my local gun shops. I do ...

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Like Tree61Likes

Thread: New AR

New AR

Hi

Looking for my first AR. I'm having a hard time finding a colt, Daniel defense or bcm at my local gun shops.

I do see plenty of bushmaster, stag, and rock river. Of these three names, which is the best? I'll be using it for target shooting and home defense. I know these three names aren't top tier ar's, but are they going to fall apart during a two day carbine class? I'm a novice, but am I going to have to buy another one in a few years?

I was holding a Stag left handed model which was appealing since I'm left handed. The price was 1100. Is this in the ballpark of a fair price>

thanks

Don't settle for what they have in stock. Get what you want. Colt, BCM, DD...all good choices. An AR is a big investment and worth being picky about.

Sparky's got the right approach. Considering the investment, don't be in too big a rush to settle.

Personal opinion only, but I think $1100 for a Stag of any flavor is outrageous.
    Smitty
    NRA Endowment Member

Distinguished Member Array sealteam20001's Avatar
    Yes, take your time, a colt is worth the wait. likewise for bcm, dd. no hurry were not at war YET. lol.

I wouldnt pay $1100 for any of those three when you can wait and pay the same for a higher quality gun. If you were seeing one of the others in the 600-800 range it would be more of a question of what you want and are looking for.

Local walmarts in middle TN have 3 models of colt ARs in stock. And they have been sitting in the display case (and in the back arms room), for a good month and a half. Im sure they have sold some, but they are restocked immediately.